How to Choose Online Spoken English Classes (2026)

12 min read
Share:WhatsAppXFacebook
SPOKEN ENGLISH · COMPARISON GUIDE

The best online spoken English classes are the ones where you actually speak for most of the class, with a teacher who corrects you in the moment, at a fee you can see before you start. This guide compares 9 ways to take a spoken English course online from Pakistan, from local academies to international apps, on exactly those points.

Who wrote this guide: Elemental Academia, which teaches spoken English online. We’ve put our own course first, and we say so plainly. Every other option is described only with facts from its own website, checked on 13 October 2026 (LEWS on 12 October 2026), with a link so you can check each one yourself. Prices and offers change, so check the link before you pay.


What to Compare Before You Pay

If you understand English but freeze when you speak, you don’t need more videos. You need a lot of speaking, with correction. These six questions show how much of that each option really gives you.

QUESTION 1
How many minutes will you actually speak?

In a one-to-one class you speak for most of the hour. In a group, the speaking time is shared, so ask for the maximum group size.

QUESTION 2
Who is the teacher, and is it the same teacher each time?

A teacher who knows your mistakes can fix them faster than a new tutor every week. If you’re a beginner, check whether the teacher can explain in Urdu.

QUESTION 3
How long are classes, and how many a month?

Multiply class length by classes a month to get the real teaching time. Forty-minute classes add up to less than one-hour classes.

QUESTION 4
Is there a plan, and how is progress checked?

Look for levels, a plan for each level, and a regular speaking test, so you can see whether you’re improving.

QUESTION 5
What is the real price, in rupees?

Check whether you pay a month or per lesson, and in what currency. International platforms charge in dollars by card, so the rupee price changes with the exchange rate.

QUESTION 6
Can you try a class first?

A free demo or trial class tells you more than any website. Use it to ask the other five questions.


The 9 Options at a Glance

OptionFormatClass timePublished priceTeacherTry first
Elemental AcademiaOne-to-one on Google Meet, same teacher every class12 one-hour classes a month (3 a week)PKR 7,500 a month, every levelFounder Muhammad Humza Rehan; Urdu explanations when neededFree 30-minute demo class
British Council English OnlineLive online group classes (55 minutes) and private classes (25 minutes), booked with creditsSilver: 1 group class a week; Gold: 10 credits; Platinum: 15 credits a monthPKR 19,848 (Silver), PKR 41,605 (Gold), PKR 56,492 (Platinum) a month; Gold and Platinum shown at PKR 33,300 and PKR 45,200 for the first 3 monthsBritish Council teachers7-day free trial on Gold and Platinum
Digital Tutor ClubPrivate one-to-one on Zoom (also Google Meet or Skype)16–18 classes of 40 minutes a month (4 days a week)PKR 15,000 a month (shown as reduced from PKR 20,000)Female tutors (not named)Free demo class
PreplyMarketplace of individual tutors, one-to-oneLessons booked with each tutor (trial lessons of 25 or 50 minutes)Set by each tutor: from about USD 3 to USD 40+ a lessonVaries by tutorTrial lesson; switch tutors if it isn’t a match
CamblyMonthly subscription: small groups (a tutor and 1–2 students) or private lessonsNot stated on the pageFrom USD 17 (Small Groups), USD 39 (Private+) or USD 56 (Pro) a month, shown discountedNative English speakers (Small Groups)Explore without a subscription
italkiMarketplace: one-to-one lessons and group classesLessons of 30 or 45 minutes, up to 90 minutesSet by each teacher, pay as you go (featured teachers from USD 6–13 a lesson)Professional teachers or community tutorsTrial lessons
EF English LivePrivate classes, small group classes and self-study, 24/7Not stated on the pagePersonalised (enquiry form)Certified native or bilingual teachersNot stated
LingodaSmall groups of around five, or private classesNot stated on the pageNot shown on the pageCertified, native-level teachers7-day free trial
LEWS English AcademyOne-to-one on Google Meet4 classes a week of 40–45 minutes, for 8 weeksPKR 7,999 a monthNamed on the course pagesFree 30-minute first class

Checked on each provider’s own website on 13 October 2026 (LEWS: 12 October 2026). “Not stated” means the provider’s page doesn’t say.


1. Elemental Academia: Best for Freezing Speakers Who Need the Whole Hour

Our course. Elemental Academia’s online Spoken English course is for anyone who understands English but freezes, hesitates or translates from Urdu when it’s time to speak. Classes are live and one-to-one on Google Meet, 3 times a week for 1 hour, with founder Muhammad Humza Rehan, for PKR 7,500 a month at every level. You get feedback after every class and a speaking test every month, with Urdu explanations when you need them. There are three levels, Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced, and you move up when your monthly speaking test shows you’re ready. Most students finish in 2 to 4 months.

  • Best for: shy or hesitant speakers who want to speak for the whole class, with one teacher who knows their mistakes and can explain in Urdu.
  • Worth knowing: there are no group classes, so if you want to practise with other learners, a group option suits you better. One teacher teaches every class, so book early for evening or weekend times.
  • Fees: PKR 7,500 a month, paid monthly by bank transfer, JazzCash or Easypaisa. No admission fee. Stop at the end of any month.

2. British Council English Online: Best for a Structured Course with a Certificate

British Council English Online is a monthly subscription. A live group class of 55 minutes costs 1 credit, and a private class of 25 minutes costs 2 credits. For Pakistan, Silver is PKR 19,848 a month (5 credits, group classes only, about 1 a week); Gold is PKR 41,605 a month (10 credits, about 2 group classes a week); Platinum is PKR 56,492 a month (15 credits, about 3 group classes a week). Gold and Platinum were shown at PKR 33,300 and PKR 45,200 for the first 3 months. Plans include AI speaking practice, short grammar webinars, and a British Council certificate showing your level.

  • Best for: learners who want an internationally known course structure, a certificate, and a timetable that runs around the clock.
  • Worth knowing: private classes are 25 minutes, and speaking time in group classes is shared.

3. Digital Tutor Club: Best for Four Classes a Week with a Female Tutor

Digital Tutor Club offers private one-to-one spoken English classes on Zoom, Google Meet or Skype: 16–18 classes of 40 minutes a month, 4 days a week, for PKR 15,000 a month (shown as reduced from PKR 20,000). Its page describes experienced female tutors and offers a free demo with a level check.

  • Best for: learners who want a female tutor and four short classes a week.
  • Worth knowing: the tutors aren’t named on the course page, so ask who will teach you.

4. Preply: Best for Choosing from Many Tutors

Preply is a marketplace where each tutor sets their own price, from about USD 3 to USD 40 or more a lesson; Preply’s own page puts the average at around USD 16 an hour. You can book a trial lesson of 25 or 50 minutes, and try other tutors free if the first isn’t a match.

  • Best for: learners who want lots of choice, including native speakers, and are comfortable paying in dollars by card.
  • Worth knowing: quality and structure depend entirely on the tutor you pick, so read reviews and use the trial well.

5. Cambly: Best for Practice with Native Speakers

Cambly is a monthly subscription for practice with tutors: Small Groups (a tutor and 1–2 other adult students) from USD 17 a month, Private+ from USD 39 a month and Pro from USD 56 a month, as shown with discounts on its page. It lists courses for speaking, business English, vocabulary, grammar and exam preparation.

  • Best for: learners who mainly want regular conversation practice with native English speakers.
  • Worth knowing: lesson length isn’t stated on the page, and you pay in dollars.

What Cambly and Preply cost in rupees, per hour, and 6 alternatives: see our guide to Cambly and Preply alternatives in Pakistan.


6. italki: Best for Pay-As-You-Go Lessons

italki is a marketplace of professional teachers and community tutors. Lessons can be 30 or 45 minutes, up to 90 minutes, paid lesson by lesson with no subscription; each teacher sets their price (featured teachers started from USD 6 to USD 13 a lesson). Group classes are also offered.

  • Best for: learners who want to pay lesson by lesson, with no subscription.
  • Worth knowing: “community tutors” aren’t necessarily trained teachers; check which kind you’re booking.

7. EF English Live: Best for an All-in-One Course with Self-Study

EF English Live combines private classes, small group classes and self-study, available 24/7, with certified native or bilingual teachers and a certificate after each level (A1 to C2). Prices are personalised through an enquiry form. Its page offers your money back after 12 weeks if you’re not satisfied, as long as you’ve taken at least one teacher-led class and one self-study unit each week.

  • Best for: learners who want a full structured course with a lot of self-study between classes.
  • Worth knowing: you’ll need to make an enquiry to see a price.

8. Lingoda: Best for Small-Group Classes on a CEFR Plan

Lingoda teaches in small groups of around five, with private classes available, on a CEFR-aligned plan from A1 to C1, with certified, native-level teachers. It offers a 7-day free trial; plan prices aren’t shown on the English course page.

  • Best for: learners who like learning with a small group and want a clear CEFR level plan.
  • Worth knowing: in a group of five, your own speaking time is a fifth of the class.

9. LEWS English Academy: Best for More, Shorter One-to-One Classes

LEWS English Academy offers one-to-one spoken English classes on Google Meet: 4 classes a week of 40–45 minutes over 8 weeks, for PKR 7,999 a month, with a free 30-minute first class.

  • Best for: learners who prefer four shorter classes a week to three longer ones.
  • Worth knowing: compare total time: four 40–45-minute classes a week add up to about 11.5–13 hours a month, against 12 hours for three one-hour classes a week.

How to Compare Fees Fairly

Divide the monthly fee by the hours of teaching it buys. Here is that sum for the options that publish their prices in rupees, using their own figures.

OptionTeaching it buys each monthFee per hour of teaching
Elemental Academia12 hours one-to-one, for PKR 7,500PKR 625 an hour, one-to-one
Digital Tutor ClubAbout 10.5–12 hours one-to-one, for PKR 15,000About PKR 1,250–1,400 an hour, one-to-one
British Council English Online (group)55-minute group classes, 5–15 a monthAbout PKR 3,300–4,550 an hour, shared with other students
British Council English Online (private)25-minute private classes, 2 credits eachAbout PKR 14,500–20,000 an hour, one-to-one
LEWS English AcademyAbout 11.5–13 hours one-to-one, for PKR 7,999About PKR 615–690 an hour, one-to-one

Our arithmetic from each provider’s published figures, 13 October 2026. A month is taken as 52 weeks ÷ 12.

Prices on Preply, Cambly, italki, EF English Live and Lingoda are in dollars or depend on your plan, so convert at the day’s exchange rate and check your bank’s card charges before comparing.


Which Option Is Right for You?

  • You freeze or feel shy when you speak: choose one-to-one classes with the same teacher every time, so there’s no audience and nobody to compare yourself with.
  • You’re a beginner and need explanations in Urdu: check before you pay whether the teacher can explain in Urdu. Elemental Academia’s classes do.
  • You want to hear native speakers: marketplaces such as Preply, Cambly and italki have many native-speaker tutors.
  • You want a certificate and a structured CEFR course: British Council, Lingoda and EF English Live all follow a level plan.
  • You want to pay in rupees by bank transfer, JazzCash or Easypaisa, on Pakistan time: a local academy is usually simpler than an international platform.
  • You’re practising on your own: start with our free 10 conversation dialogues and 10 ways to improve your speaking at home.

Questions to Ask in Any Free Demo

  • Will I have the same teacher every class?
  • How many minutes will I actually speak in each class?
  • How long is each class, and how many classes do I get a month?
  • Can you explain in Urdu when I don’t understand?
  • How will you check my progress, and how often?
  • What exactly is the fee, in rupees, and is there an admission fee?
  • Can I stop at the end of any month?

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best online spoken English course in Pakistan?
The best course is the one where you speak the most, with correction. For shy or hesitant speakers, that’s usually one-to-one classes with the same teacher. We run Elemental Academia, so we’re biased: compare the six questions in this guide and book free demo classes before you decide.
How much do online spoken English classes cost in Pakistan?
In this guide, one-to-one classes from Pakistani academies cost PKR 7,500 to PKR 15,000 a month, and British Council English Online costs PKR 19,848 to PKR 56,492 a month. International marketplaces charge in dollars, from a few dollars a lesson upwards. Compare the fee per hour of teaching, not the headline price.
Are one-to-one spoken English classes better than group classes?
For speaking, usually yes, because you speak for most of the class instead of waiting for your turn. Group classes can suit confident learners who enjoy practising with others, and they can cost less per hour.
Should my teacher be a native speaker?
Not necessarily. A native speaker is good for natural conversation practice, but a beginner often progresses faster with a qualified teacher who can explain in Urdu and understands the mistakes Urdu speakers make.
How long does it take to speak English fluently?
It depends on where you start and how much you practise. At Elemental Academia most students notice a difference within 2 to 3 weeks and finish the course in 2 to 4 months; fluency keeps building after that with regular practice.
Can I learn spoken English online for free?
You can practise for free with guides, videos and dialogues, such as our conversation dialogues. What free resources can’t give you is someone listening to you and correcting you, which is what makes the biggest difference.
Do I need to keep my camera on in online classes?
It depends on the provider. At Elemental Academia your camera is optional in every class.
Elemental Academia · Spoken English

Try a Free 30-Minute Spoken English Demo

Elemental Academia’s Spoken English course is live and one-to-one with founder Muhammad Humza Rehan: 3 one-hour classes a week, for PKR 7,500 a month at every level. Start with a free 30-minute demo class.

Book your free demo class
Share:WhatsAppXFacebook

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chat on WhatsApp

Meet your instructor before you decide.

Book free demoWhatsApp