Cambly and Preply are two of the best-known ways to practise English online with a tutor, but from Pakistan both charge in US dollars by card. Worked out per hour of one-to-one teaching, they cost several times more than a Pakistani academy. This guide shows what Cambly and Preply really cost in rupees, and compares 6 alternatives on price per hour, teacher, class length and how you pay.
Who wrote this guide: Elemental Academia, which teaches spoken English, IELTS and Business English online. We’ve put our own courses first among the alternatives, and we say so plainly. Every other option is described only with facts from its own website, checked on 25 October 2026, with a link so you can check each one yourself. Dollar prices are converted at the State Bank of Pakistan’s rate of 23 October 2026 (PKR 276.82 to the dollar). Prices and offers change, so check the link before you pay.
- What Cambly and Preply Cost in Rupees
- Why Learners in Pakistan Look for Alternatives
- The 6 Alternatives at a Glance
- 1. Elemental Academia: Best for One Teacher, Full One-Hour Classes and Rupee Fees
- 2. italki: Best Like-for-Like Marketplace, Paid Lesson by Lesson
- 3. British Council English Online: Best for a Structured Course with a Certificate
- 4. Lingoda: Best for Small-Group Classes on a CEFR Plan
- 5. Digital Tutor Club: Best for Four Classes a Week with a Female Tutor
- 6. LEWS English Academy: Best for More, Shorter One-to-One Classes
- Price per Hour: Cambly and Preply Against the Alternatives
- Which Option Is Right for You?
- Frequently Asked Questions
Billed monthly, a 30-minute Cambly Private+ lesson costs USD 11.90–14.00, about PKR 6,600–7,750 an hour. Preply’s own page puts its average English tutor at USD 23–27 an hour (about PKR 6,350–7,500). One-to-one classes from Pakistani academies in this guide cost PKR 615–1,400 an hour, paid in rupees: Elemental Academia’s Spoken English is PKR 7,500 a month for 12 one-hour classes, PKR 625 an hour.
What Cambly and Preply Cost in Rupees
Cambly sells a subscription. You choose a plan, then 1, 2, 3, 5 or 10 lessons a week, and every lesson is 30 minutes. On 25 October 2026 its pricing page showed these prices a lesson, billed monthly. Paying every 3 months takes 10% off, and paying for a year takes 30% off.
| Cambly plan | What you get | Price a 30-minute lesson, billed monthly | Per hour, in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small Groups | A tutor and 1–2 other adult students (1 or 2 lessons a week) | USD 5.50–6.00 | About PKR 3,050–3,300, shared |
| Private+ | One-to-one lessons, with recordings and transcripts | USD 11.90–14.00 | About PKR 6,600–7,750 |
| Pro | One-to-one with Cambly’s Pro tutors, structured lessons | USD 16.90–20.00 | About PKR 9,350–11,100 |
Cambly’s pricing page, 25 October 2026; the price depends on how many lessons a week you choose. Rupees at PKR 276.82 to the dollar (SBP, 23 October 2026), before any bank charges.
Cambly Private+, three 30-minute lessons a week, billed monthly: USD 13.17 a lesson, so about USD 171 a month (about PKR 47,400) for about 6.5 hours of one-to-one practice.
Billed for a year in advance, the same plan is USD 8.51 a lesson, about PKR 30,600 a month, paid as one yearly payment.
Preply is a marketplace: each tutor sets their own price, from USD 3 to USD 40 or more a lesson. Its conversational English page gives average rates of USD 27 an hour for native English speakers and USD 23 for non-native speakers (about PKR 7,500 and PKR 6,350). Preply’s help centre explains that after you choose a tutor, you’re charged every 28 days for a fixed number of lessons with them (the minimum is 4), and lessons you haven’t scheduled by the renewal date expire.
Both charge in US dollars, so the rupee amount moves with the exchange rate. Your bank may also add a foreign-currency charge and the FBR’s advance tax on card payments abroad, so check your card’s schedule of charges, and check that it’s enabled for international online payments, before you subscribe.
Why Learners in Pakistan Look for Alternatives
Cambly and Preply do some things very well: thousands of tutors, native speakers at any hour, and the freedom to choose and change tutors. Pakistani learners usually look elsewhere for one of these five reasons.
At PKR 6,000 or more an hour, a month of regular one-to-one practice costs tens of thousands of rupees. Pakistani academies charge a fraction of that per hour.
You need a card that works for international payments, and the final amount depends on the exchange rate and your bank. Local academies take bank transfers and mobile wallets in rupees.
Cambly’s lessons are 30 minutes. That suits quick daily practice, but a full one-hour class leaves time to learn something, practise it and be corrected in the same lesson.
A beginner or a nervous speaker often moves faster with a teacher who can explain a point in Urdu and knows the mistakes Urdu speakers make. On an international platform, check whether your tutor speaks Urdu before you book.
Conversation practice builds fluency, but many learners also want levels, regular tests and feedback on their mistakes, or preparation for a specific goal such as IELTS or job interviews.
The 6 Alternatives at a Glance
| Option | Format | Class time | Published price | Teacher | Try first |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elemental Academia | One-to-one on Google Meet, same teacher every class | 12 one-hour classes a month (3 a week) | Spoken English PKR 7,500, Business English PKR 8,000, IELTS PKR 10,000 a month | Founder Muhammad Humza Rehan; Urdu explanations when needed | Free 30-minute demo class |
| italki | Marketplace: one-to-one lessons and group classes | Lessons of 30 or 45 minutes, up to 90 minutes | Set by each teacher, pay as you go (lessons shown from USD 6) | Professional teachers or community tutors | Trial lessons (shown from USD 5) |
| British Council English Online | Live online group classes (55 minutes) and private classes (25 minutes), booked with credits | Silver: 5 credits; Gold: 10; Platinum: 15 a month | PKR 19,848 (Silver), PKR 41,605 (Gold, PKR 35,400 for the first 4 months), PKR 56,492 (Platinum) a month | British Council teachers | 7-day free trial on Gold and Platinum |
| Lingoda | Small groups of around five, or one-to-one sessions | Not stated on the page | Not shown on the page | Certified, native-level teachers | 7-day free trial |
| Digital Tutor Club | Private one-to-one on Zoom | 16–18 classes of 40 minutes a month | PKR 15,000 a month (shown as reduced from PKR 20,000) | Female tutors (not named) | Free demo class |
| LEWS English Academy | One-to-one on Google Meet | 4 classes a week of 40–45 minutes, for 8 weeks | PKR 7,999 a month | Named on the course pages | Free 30-minute first class |
Checked on each provider’s own website on 25 October 2026. “Not stated” means the provider’s page doesn’t say.
1. Elemental Academia: Best for One Teacher, Full One-Hour Classes and Rupee Fees
Our academy. Every class at Elemental Academia is live and one-to-one on Google Meet with founder Muhammad Humza Rehan: 12 one-hour classes a month, 3 a week, at times agreed with you. The Spoken English course is PKR 7,500 a month at every level (PKR 625 an hour), with feedback after every class, a speaking test every month and homework corrected within 24 hours. There are also courses for IELTS (PKR 10,000 a month, with 4 full mock tests) and Business English (PKR 8,000 a month, with mock interviews and meeting role-plays). Explanations are in Urdu whenever you need them, and your camera is optional in every class.
- Best for: learners who want the same teacher every class, full one-hour lessons, a plan with regular tests, and fees in rupees.
- Worth knowing: there are no native-speaker tutors and no group classes, and one teacher teaches every class, so book early for evening or weekend times.
- Fees: paid monthly by bank transfer, JazzCash or Easypaisa. No admission fee. Stop at the end of any month. See all course fees.
2. italki: Best Like-for-Like Marketplace, Paid Lesson by Lesson
italki is the closest match to Preply: a marketplace where each teacher sets their own price. Its homepage says there are no subscriptions: lessons are pay as you go, 30 or 45 minutes long, or up to 90 minutes. On 25 October 2026 its English pages showed lessons from USD 6 and trial lessons from USD 5. There are two kinds of teacher: professional teachers, with teaching experience and qualifications, and community tutors.
- Best for: learners who like choosing a tutor, as on Preply, but don’t want a subscription.
- Worth knowing: you still pay in dollars by card, and community tutors aren’t necessarily trained teachers, so check which kind you’re booking.
3. British Council English Online: Best for a Structured Course with a Certificate
British Council English Online is a monthly subscription priced in rupees for Pakistan. A live group class of 55 minutes costs 1 credit, and a private class of 25 minutes costs 2 credits. Silver is PKR 19,848 a month (5 credits, group classes only, about 1 a week); Gold is PKR 41,605 a month (10 credits), shown at PKR 35,400 for the first 4 months; Platinum is PKR 56,492 a month (15 credits). Plans include AI speaking practice, grammar webinars, and British Council badges and certificates.
- Best for: learners who want an internationally known course structure and a certificate, with classes around the clock.
- Worth knowing: private classes are 25 minutes, and in group classes the speaking time is shared.
4. Lingoda: Best for Small-Group Classes on a CEFR Plan
Lingoda teaches in small classes of around five people, with one-to-one sessions available, on its own CEFR-aligned curriculum, with certified, native-level teachers. Classes run 24/7, and there’s a free 7-day trial. Plan prices aren’t shown on its English course page.
- Best for: learners who liked Cambly’s native-level teachers but want a fixed curriculum and a group to learn with.
- Worth knowing: in a class of five, your own speaking time is about a fifth of the class.
5. Digital Tutor Club: Best for Four Classes a Week with a Female Tutor
Digital Tutor Club, based in Lahore, offers private one-to-one spoken English classes on Zoom: 16–18 classes of 40 minutes a month, for PKR 15,000 a month (shown as reduced from PKR 20,000). Its page describes experienced female tutors and offers a free demo class.
- Best for: learners who want a female tutor and four short classes a week, paid in rupees.
- Worth knowing: the tutors aren’t named on the course page, so ask who will teach you.
6. LEWS English Academy: Best for More, Shorter One-to-One Classes
LEWS English Academy offers one-to-one spoken English classes on Google Meet: 4 classes a week of 40–45 minutes over 8 weeks, for PKR 7,999 a month, with a free 30-minute first class.
- Best for: learners who prefer four shorter classes a week to three longer ones.
- Worth knowing: compare the total time: four 40–45-minute classes a week add up to about 11.5–13 hours a month.
Price per Hour: Cambly and Preply Against the Alternatives
The fairest comparison is the fee divided by the hours of teaching it buys. Here is that sum for every option that publishes its prices, using its own figures.
| Option | What you pay | Per hour of teaching |
|---|---|---|
| Elemental Academia (Spoken English) | PKR 7,500 a month for 12 one-hour classes | PKR 625, one-to-one |
| Elemental Academia (IELTS) | PKR 10,000 a month for 12 one-hour classes | About PKR 833, one-to-one |
| Digital Tutor Club | PKR 15,000 a month for 16–18 classes of 40 minutes | About PKR 1,250–1,400, one-to-one |
| British Council English Online (group) | PKR 3,540–4,160 a credit; a 55-minute group class is 1 credit | About PKR 3,850–4,550, shared with other students |
| Cambly Small Groups | USD 5.50–6.00 a 30-minute lesson, billed monthly | About PKR 3,050–3,300, shared with 1–2 students |
| Preply (average tutor) | USD 23–27 an hour, on Preply’s own page | About PKR 6,350–7,500, one-to-one |
| Cambly Private+ | USD 11.90–14.00 a 30-minute lesson, billed monthly | About PKR 6,600–7,750, one-to-one |
| Cambly Pro | USD 16.90–20.00 a 30-minute lesson, billed monthly | About PKR 9,350–11,100, one-to-one |
| British Council English Online (private) | A 25-minute private class is 2 credits | About PKR 17,000–20,000, one-to-one |
| LEWS English Academy | PKR 7,999 a month for 4 classes a week of 40–45 minutes | About PKR 615–690, one-to-one |
Our arithmetic from each provider’s published figures, 25 October 2026. Dollars at PKR 276.82 (SBP, 23 October 2026), before bank charges. A month is taken as 52 weeks ÷ 12. italki and Lingoda aren’t included: italki’s prices are set by each teacher, and Lingoda’s aren’t shown on its page.
One-to-one and group hours aren’t the same thing: in a group, the hour is shared, so your own speaking time is a fraction of it.
Which Option Is Right for You?
- You mainly want to chat with native speakers, at any hour: Cambly does exactly that, and Lingoda adds a curriculum.
- You like choosing your own tutor: italki works like Preply, without a subscription.
- You want one teacher who knows your mistakes, full one-hour classes and fees in rupees: a Pakistani one-to-one academy, such as Elemental Academia.
- You’re a beginner or freeze when you speak: choose a teacher who can explain in Urdu, and the same teacher every class.
- You have a specific goal, such as IELTS or job interviews: choose a course built for it, with mock tests, rather than open conversation practice.
- You want a certificate from a well-known brand: British Council English Online.
Whichever you choose, use the free trial or demo to ask the questions in our guide to choosing online spoken English classes. Preparing for IELTS? See how to choose an online IELTS course in Pakistan.
Frequently Asked Questions
Compare for Yourself: a Free 30-Minute Demo Class
Every class at Elemental Academia is live and one-to-one with founder Muhammad Humza Rehan: 12 one-hour classes a month, paid in rupees. Spoken English is PKR 7,500 a month. Start with a free 30-minute demo class.
Book your free demo class